Board of Directors


Sarah Drake Brown, Chair
Ball State University (IN)
Joanne Freeman
Yale University (CT)
Kristy Brugar, Vice-Chair
University of Oklahoma
Theodore D.R. Green
Webster University (MO)
Dean Pinos, Vice-Chair
New Trier High School (IL)
Kevin Levin
Independent Historian and Educator (MA)

Todd Wigginton, Vice-Chair
Metro Nashville Public Schools (TN)
Claire McCaffery Griffin
Independent Consultant (WA)
Dan Dunn, Treasurer
The Branson School (CA)
Andy Mink
National Humanities Center (NC)
Laura Wakefield, Secretary
Osceola County Historical Society
Cokie Roberts
Journalist/Author (MD)
Douglas Brinkley
Rice University (TX)
Beth Scarbrough, Past-Chair
Veritas Classical School (GA) 
James K. Cameron
Saline High School (MI), Retired
​Elliott West
University of Arkansas
Mike Clemens
Osceola High School (FL)
Yohuru Williams
University of St. Thomas (MN)
Fritz Fischer
University of Northern Colorado


About NCHE

The National Council for History Education promotes historical literacy by creating opportunities for teachers and students to benefit from more history, better taught.